Wedding Planning

Over the years we get alot of requests each day and it has become troubling to me that I have decided to write this. The first question someone asks is what price can you do my wedding for or can you send me pricing? My first thought is pricing on what? What do I know about your event to be able to send pricing? We get calls and emails everyday to give someone a price on their wedding, their dream day, their big day just like that. I am sorry it constantly amazes me. Even before becoming a wedding planner when I was getting married I carried the picture of the cake I wanted and my first question is can I get what I want before even talking about price. My main concern was can the person deliver what I want and then what price can I get it for and I was on a serious budget. I am not rich. But I wanted to make sure I could get the best and the person could actually do the job with my hard-earned money. I first wanted whatever vendor to have a clear picture as to what I want, could they deliver what I want, was want I wanted feasible and what suggestions they had before pricing.

What I would like to know is would you trust a wedding planner that can give you the price of your big day with limited details or would you trust someone who sits down and get more details and tries to work with your budget? I am amazed at times by people getting upset because we cannot give them a price on their wedding from one simple call or email. They make it seems crazy that we don’t do that.  Are we being bad wedding planners? Do people really understand what is the role of a wedding planner? When you try to explain the process and ask questions to help better understand what the client wants people get annoyed.

A true wedding planner tries to find out from you in an initial consultation whether in person, by email, phone, skype etc. what exactly you are looking for and if he or she can help you achieve that goal within the budget stated and whether you can work together and then if you decide to work together, she or she tries and get for the client the best vendors at the best prices within the budget the client has set. From time to time wedding planners and hotels or venues put together packages to assist clients who do not want to go through the planning process and that’s exactly what it is a package. It’s not personalized and its generic. But if you want something customized there is a process and you need to trust the process and the person you have decided to work with.

I think this weekend after numerous emails re pricing I have decided that if you cannot accept the process as is to get the event and decor that your truly want then its best to find someone who can deliver immediate pricing. I prefer to work with someone who will work with me to give them the day they truly dreamed of. I get sad and disheartened at times and wonder if I am doing the right thing. But I have decided to stick with what I know best and if it means I lose out on some business then that’s it as I refuse to become a package seller. If you refuse to answer basic questions now at the initial stages what will happen when you need to make big decisions throughout the planning process? hope no one is offended but I felt it necessary to write about this.

Take care and have a great day everyone.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:23:30

    true talk

    Reply

  2. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:24:39

    stick to what you know best

    Reply

  3. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:25:33

    a heartfelt post

    Reply

  4. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:25:45

    i support you 100%

    Reply

  5. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:32:00

    wedding planning and not wedding packaging

    Reply

  6. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 10:43:03

    tissue covered mason jars super cute

    Reply

  7. beethankful
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:21:22

    I so agree with you Helen G!

    Reply

  8. beethankful
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:26:42

    In my opinion, wedding planners are the ones to go to for a customized packages to meet the needs of your wedding

    Reply

  9. beethankful
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:29:27

    its not a one size fit all

    Reply

  10. beethankful
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:30:00

    wedding planner think creatively to save money and get you what you want! A dream wedding

    Reply

  11. yollyscott
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 23:54:23

    i agree

    Reply

  12. beethankful
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:04:37

    Your experience speaks for itself Helen G

    Reply

  13. beethankful
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:04:59

    The quality of your Blog post speaks for itself

    Reply

  14. beethankful
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:05:46

    your willingness to pass on your experience through your certificate courses speaks for itself

    Reply

  15. beethankful
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:06:24

    your designs and samples of your work speak for itself

    Reply

  16. beethankful
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 14:22:35

    planning a wedding is not like buying a tin of canned food

    Reply

  17. yollyscott
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 12:40:34

    haha….true

    Reply

  18. yollyscott
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 12:40:47

    its a once in a lifetime thing

    Reply

  19. yollyscott
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 12:41:04

    you want the day to be perfect

    Reply

  20. beethankful
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 09:52:37

    At Helen G they offer customized wedding packages to simplify the planning process, while allowing you to add your own special touch

    Reply

Leave a Reply

